Baked Fudge

The crispy top of these is pretty darn breathtaking. Self-proclaimed manly men have been known to weep at its approach.

Without question, the best gooey brownies in the world. Garfield will be pleased!

Back when I posted about blondies, I promised you baked fudge, and, my disgruntled lobsters, here it is! Oh, how I wish I had known of this recipe years ago. I truly feel I’ve missed out on years of fudgey joy. These are the most amazing, gooey, chocolatey, flavourful, rich, intense brownies ever to have lived. They are held together with the least possible amount of flour, rendering them just this side of solid – hence their moniker, because they aren’t at all cake-like or chewy. However, they are dense – I, who love chocolate the way starfish love their limbs, can only eat one at a time comfortably. I have been known to eat two, but that’s pushing it. They’re so easy to make, and they turn out so well every time. I overbaked these a couple of times, and the recipe is very forgiving; except for a slightly firmer texture, they were still mouthwatering. Make these. Just look at them, with their melted centers and beautifully crisp tops!

The Baked Fudge has been infiltrated. Quickly - to the meat drawer!

The crispy top of these is pretty darn breathtaking. Self-proclaimed manly men have been known to weep at its approach.

I wasn’t expecting these to be so smashing, honestly. I found the recipe through a meandering route through a book review, which led to another book review, which led to a blog post, which led to another blog post, and so on. They surprised the hell out of me! Seriously – this random recipe, from a random blog, turned out to be the best fudgey brownie recipe I’ve ever come across. I wanted to wingsuit across the Matterhorn while warbling opera! I warble opera anyway. The Godcat likes to meow along with me, while the rest of the felines haughtily ignore my serenades. “O soave fanciulla…”

A close-up reveals the fudgey, gooey deliciousness that awaits the lucky taster!

A close-up reveals the fudgey, gooey deliciousness that awaits the lucky taster!

I hope you make these and bask in their deliciousness, the way I do whenever I make them.

If you enjoyed reading this, click here to subscribe to my blog. That way, you’ll never miss a post!

Baked Fudge

Yield: 9 – 16 squares, depending on size cut

Ingredients:
1 stick unsalted butter
3 oz. unsweetened chocolate, chopped
2 cups sugar
1 TBS vanilla
1 TBS brewed espresso or strong coffee, optional
3 eggs
1 cup flour
1/4 tsp salt, optional
1 – 2 cups chocolate chunks, nuts, and / or chocolate chips

Method:
Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour 8×8 or 9×9 baking pan, or spray with nonstick cooking spray. Set aside.

Melt butter and chocolate until smooth and blended. Stir in sugar. (Mixture will become grainy.) Stir in vanilla and espresso, if using, until completely blended. Stir in salt, if using. Stir in eggs, one at a time, stirring until each addition is thoroughly blended. Gently stir in flour, then chocolate chunks.

Pour into prepared dish and bake 30 – 35 minutes. Place dish on cooling rack and cool completely before cutting.

The chocolate and butter after melting.

The chocolate and butter after melting.

Upon adding sugar, the chocolate mixture looks grainy. It will smooth out again upon the addition of eggs and vanilla.

Upon adding sugar, the chocolate mixture looks grainy. It will smooth out again upon the addition of eggs and vanilla.

Eggs and vanilla have been added to the chocolate, butter, and sugar. I can scarcely express my burgeoning joy!

Eggs and vanilla have been added to the chocolate, butter, and sugar. I can scarcely express my burgeoning joy!

Flour has been added!

Flour has been added!

Chocolate chunks have been stirred in. I think I could have added more, but there was a solar flare.

Chocolate chunks have been stirred in. I think I could have added more, but there was a solar flare.

Source: Adapted from Creative Culinary (unfortunately, this recipe has since been removed from the Creative Culinary site)

4 thoughts on “Baked Fudge

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Sink Blondies | KitchEnchanted

  2. Pingback: Orgasmic Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Chocolate Chunk Brownies | KitchEnchanted

  3. Pingback: Mocha Buttercream Brownies | KitchEnchanted

  4. Pingback: Favourites from 2013 | KitchEnchanted

Comment

