Gigantic Peanut Butter Cups

Oh, you baaaad boys.

Oh, you baaaad boys.

These are quite possibly the easiest and tastiest and most righteous peanut butter cups one can make. I made them because I was in a chocolate frenzy, and needed a chocolate fix *right* the hell then! Ohhhh, they soothed my chocolate frenzy and then some. Depending on the quality of chocolate you use (I used a blend of Hershey’s, Nestle, and Ghirardelli), these can actually turn out to be better than Reese’s peanut butter cups.

You heard me.

Mine were, at any rate. I don’t say that lightly, by the way, as Reese’s peanut butter cups are some of my most cherished candies. (I feel I am insulting chocolate everywhere by referring to it in this context as mere candy.) Hubs and I devoured them like feral beasts. Rich, seductive – these two adjectives encompass the magic that is these peanut butter cups. So, so good. I wish I had white chocolate in my pantry right now!

That’s why I’m posting these today, instead of a gorgeous chocolate cake (coming *très* soon!) I made: These truly turned out well, and I am so excited by how they totally smoked the still-worthy Reese’s peanut butter cups!

And à propos of nothing, I hosted (hostessed?) a small tea party this past weekend. I made so many things – lemon curd, pastry cream, scones, tres leches cake, this awesome Danish Coffee Cake, shortbread cookies, and more – and I’m so mad at myself, because I didn’t photograph any of it! (Mine was a madhouse that day – a delightful, canty madhouse.) Still, that gives me all the excuse I need to make these things again so I can share them with you. 🙂 Righteous!

If you enjoyed reading this, click here to subscribe to my blog. That way, you’ll never miss a post!

Gigantic Peanut Butter Cups

Yield: 4 – 8 giant peanut butter cups

Ingredients:

16 oz. chocolate (I used a mixture of milk, dark, and bittersweet), chopped
3/4 cup peanut butter (not the natural or old-fashioned kind)
6 oz. white chocolate, chopped

Method:

Melt the 16 oz. chocolate. To do this, you can use a heavy-bottomed saucepan on medium heat, stirring frequently to prevent the chocolate from scorching. You can also elect to ditch the stovetop method entirely and use a microwave. To microwave the chocolate, place it in a large, microwave-safe bowl and microwave for bursts of 30 seconds at a time, stirring after each burst. When it is nearly all melted, take it out of the microwave and stir your little heart out to finish the chocolate’s transition to smooth meltiness.

Set the melted chocolate aside.

Melt the peanut butter and white chocolate together, using either the stovetop method or the microwave. Either way, stir vigorously to ensure the mixture is fully incorporated. If using white chocolate chips, the chips will be very stubborn about melting.

Line 6 – 8 holes in a muffin tin with cupcake liners. Layer 1 – 2 TBS of melted chocolate in the bottom of each cup, followed by 1 – 2 TBS of the peanut butter mixture. Top with more of the chocolate mixture. Go with the flow and create a chocolate : peanut butter ratio that pleases you. Once you’ve filled the cups, use a toothpick, the tines of a fork, or the tip of a knife and swirl the top of each cup decoratively.

Place in the freezer for 15 minutes to set. Store in an airtight container at room temperature.

Source: Barely adapted from Martha Stewart

Comment

