Chocolate Raspberry Tart

"They call him Flipper, Flipper, faster than lightning!" I tend to break into song when presented with beautiful desserts.

“They call him Flipper, Flipper, faster than lightning!” I tend to break into song when presented with beautiful desserts.

Chocolate is a very sensual, intense thing to eat. The creamy chocolate filling of this tart, rich and thick and dark and kind of melty, is just amazing. It is the kind of dessert that becomes an instant classic – something I want to make again and again. The raspberries are a perfect accompaniment*, and I found that they got just a little oozy after a day, becoming soft, moist, and intensely flavourful. The raspberries get some subtle help from the addition of Chambord to the chocolate filling. I loathe Chambord straight up, but it is simply wonderful in this chocolate tart. If you have some, definitely add it to the filling!

Raspberries and cream! Oh, my!

Raspberries and cream! Oh, my!

I felt that the crust I threw together for this triple layer cheesecake would be perfect for this chocolate raspberry tart, and indeed it was. It tastes a bit like a crumbly, buttery chocolate cookie, and I couldn’t dream of a better chocolate crust for this tart. (If you think of one, I’d love to try it!) Maybe one with coffee in it? 😉

A crust of my own making. Huzzah!

A crust of my own making. Huzzah!

The key to making this killer tart is to use good chocolate. I splurged on Lindt and Cadbury chocolates, and I’m so glad I did! It goes without saying that the flavours of the chocolate(s) you choose to use are front and centre in this recipe, so use the best chocolate you can get your paws on. I boldy chose to use a mixture of milk and 90% dark chocolates, because I feel that this pairing gives the resultant chocolate mixture a complexity you can’t get from simply using semisweet chocolate. I’m including my rather insane blend of chocolates below, but feel free to use whatever ratio of whatever chocolate percentages you choose. This is your chocolate artwork; make it reflect you and your tastes!

This beguiling tart is shamefully easy to make. I couldn’t resist the magnetic pull of my sexy tart pan, and I’m so glad I gave in! Make this incredible dessert, and make it SOON!

Holy raspberries, Batman! Let us fork them!

Holy raspberries, Batman! Let us fork them!

If you enjoyed reading this, click here to subscribe to my blog. That way, you’ll never miss a post!

Chocolate Raspberry Tart
Yield: 6 – 12 servings

Ingredients:

For the crust:
1 box vanilla wafers (about 32 cookies)
1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 cup cocoa
1 stick unsalted butter, melted, + additional butter if needed (I used 1 stick + 2 TBS butter, but start with one stick and add more butter, 1 TBS at a time, to achieve the right consistency)

For the filling:
12 oz. chocolate**
1 1/4 cups heavy cream
1 1/2 TBS Chambord liqueur, optional

For garnish:
6 oz. fresh raspberries, washed and dried OR a handful of fresh mint leaves, washed and dried

Method:

For the crust:
Preheat oven to 350°F.

Process cookies in a food processor or crush to fine crumbs using a potato masher. Blend in powdered sugar and cocoa powder. Stir in melted butter until crumbs are moistened. Add more butter, 1 TBS at a time, if needed.

Press crumbs evenly along bottom and up sides of a 9″ tart pan. Place tart pan on a cookie sheet to catch any potential buttery leaks, and bake crust for 12 – 15 minutes. Note: If you overbake the crust, it will be quite hard to cut. It is better to slightly underbake this crust than to overbake it.

Allow crust to cool completely. Do not yet remove crust from tart pan.

For the filling:
Place chocolate in a heatproof bowl. Heat cream to boiling and pour over the chocolate; let stand for about 2 minutes. Whisk until completely smooth and then whisk in the Chambord, if using. Allow to cool.

Assembly:
Pour filling into tart pan and refrigerate for at least one hour to allow the filling to firm up a bit. (It took three hours in the refrigerator for my filling to firm; start with an hour and proceed from there.) Once firmed, carefully remove tart from pan. Channel your inward Renoir and artfully (tartfully?) scatter raspberries over the top. (If using mint leaves, gently crush the leaves and place them atop the tart.)

This tart is fantastic on its own; it really is. Still, serve with ice cream, whipped cream, or both, if desired. Very small slices are more than adequate with this rich tart!

*While I adore raspberries with chocolate, some of you might prefer mint. For the raspberries, substitute fresh mint leaves that you have washed and dried. Crush the mint leaves just a little to help release their juices.

**I used the following:
1.925 oz. Lindt 90% dark
4.4 oz. Lindt milk (extra creamy)
3.5 oz. Cadbury milk
2.2 oz. Cadbury dark
=12.025 oz chocolate

Source: Filling adapted from Martha Stewart; crust is an original creation

One thought on “Chocolate Raspberry Tart

  1. Pingback: Red Velvet Cheesecake with Cream Cheese Icing | KitchEnchanted

Comment

