Mocha Raspberry Fantasy Fudge

I thought I'd go green for this shot.

I thought I’d go green for this shot.

Remember how I belittled Aunt Teen’s Creamy Chocolate Fudge? I really think it should be called Aunt Teen’s Creamy-But-Overemotional Fudge because of the recipe’s notorious moodiness. Anyways, I sent you to the recipe for the original Fantasy Fudge, because it is very friendly to beginning fudge makers and is reliable as all get out. I decided to take a taste of my own medicine and try making the Fantasy Fudge myself, and I am here to report that it is as described by so many reviewers: easy, reliable, creamy, delicious, and chocolate-y. It is every bit as delicious as Aunt Teen’s fussy concoction, but the fantasy fudge doesn’t turn into a crumbly, oily, separated mess as soon as you add the chocolate. It’s odd, because the two recipes use almost the exact same ingredients. The fantasy fudge recipe uses half the chocolate called for by Aunt Teen’s recipe, and yet it packs just as powerful a chocolate punch.

I decided to throw the fantasy fudge recipe a tiny curve ball by adding a bit of instant coffee powder to the brew as it boiled. Going off this mocha fudge recipe, which inspired the addition of instant coffee powder, I tried 1/2 tsp of powder; I wanted a coffee-esque boost to the chocolate flavor without making the coffee flavor too prominent. And it worked! I’m thrilled with the final taste: the coffee flavor is very subtle, but it adds a special something to the fudge. That isn’t the only change I made to the fantasy fudge recipe. I substituted raspberry extract for vanilla extract, and was pleased as punch by the notable but not overpowering raspberry flavor the extract added. I wound up with just what I was aiming for: a faint mocha flavor with delicate overtones of raspberry.

This fudge recipe is miles better than Aunt Teen’s Whiney Chocolate Wonder.

For all the fly ladies!

For all the fly ladies!

If you enjoyed reading this, click here to subscribe to my blog. That way, you’ll never miss a post!

Mocha Raspberry Fantasy Fudge

Yield: About 64 pieces

Ingredients:

3 cups sugar
1 1/2 sticks butter (either salted or unsalted butter is fine)
2/3 cup evaporated milk
1/2 tsp instant coffee powder, optional*
12 oz. chocolate**
7 oz. marshmallow crème
1 cup chopped nuts, optional
1 tsp vanilla extract (I used raspberry extract)

Method:
Line an 8×8″ pan with aluminum foil. Set aside.

In a 3 or 4 quart saucepan, bring the sugar, butter, evaporated milk, and coffee powder (if using) to a boil on medium heat, stirring constantly. When the mixture is at a full, rolling boil, set a timer for five minutes and continue to let mixture boil, stirring constantly. After the five minutes are up, remove mixture from heat and immediately stir in chocolate until completely incorporated and melted. Stir in marshmallow cream and extract until completely blended and no streaks remain.

Pour fudge into prepared container and allow to set at room temperature, about 4 hours. When the fudge is firm enough to cut, cut into 3/4″ pieces and store in an airtight container at room temperature, separating layers of fudge with waxed paper so that the fudge layers don’t stick together.

*The original recipe does not use coffee powder of any kind.

**Though I haven’t yet tried this myself, reviewers of this fudge claim that you can substitute an equal amount of either peanut butter or white chocolate for the chocolate called for by the recipe.

Source: Slightly adapted from Allrecipes.com

One thought on “Mocha Raspberry Fantasy Fudge

  1. Pingback: Favourites from 2013 | KitchEnchanted

Comment

