Homemade York Peppermint Patties

Oh, my goodness! Oh, my damn!

Oh, my goodness! Oh, my damn!

I think every baker has a list of things they would like to make At Some Point In The Future. Among the things on my such list are Boston Cream Pie, macarons, Viennese Opera Cake, the eye-popping Black Forest Dome Cake from Sprinkle Bakes – I could go on and on, but I think you get my point. Another thing that had been on my list for the longest time was York peppermint patties. I LOVE these things! They are like crack to me. As such, they are something I buy only rarely because I know I will polish off the entire bag in one sitting. I’m not kidding. Oreos do the same thing to me, so I hardly ever buy those, either.

Except now I know how to make my own York peppermint patties.

Oh, dear.

Oh, dear oh dear.


Thanks to Captain Awkward for this groovy gif! 🙂

And these are actually better than their namesake. I mean, DAYUMM.

I made two slight changes to this recipe. I used 3/4 of a teaspoon of peppermint extract, because I always think that Yorkies, as I call them (and yes, I am aware of the delicious British Yorkie chocolate bar!), have a slightly medicinal taste. The slight reduction of peppermint extract was just the thing to kick the mint flavour down just a smidge, so that it’s definitely a key flavour in this candy, but it isn’t strong enough to make you feel like you’ve just brushed your teeth. If you prefer a stronger mint flavour, then by all means, use a whole teaspoon or even a teaspoon and a half! Live a little!

The filling wound up being so tasty by itself that I had to force myself to stop snacking on it. Brown-Eyed Baker, the blog where I found this recipe, said that she thought the filling by itself was fine, but it didn’t really taste like a York peppermint patty until it had been dipped in chocolate. She was TOTALLY dead-on in this assessment. The dough is tasty, as I said, but it takes the addition of chocolate for you to go, “WHOAH NELLY! I am eating a York peppermint patty, hot durn it all!” Seriously. Whoever came up with this recipe has my undying affection.

The second change I made was to use mostly milk chocolate with some 90% dark chocolate added to make the chocolate shell a very mild semisweet one, rather than the Yorkie signature dark chocolate shell. I am a die-hard fan of milk chocolate, and I don’t like dark chocolate by itself. The only reason I tolerate it in Yorkies is because of that delicious filling! The Yorkie I wound up with was the Yorkie of my dreams. This is my favourite home-made candy, period. End of story. I know chocolate and mint are not as popular of a combination as chocolate and raspberry, or chocolate and peanut butter (both of which I LOVE), but I actually prefer chocolate and mint to chocolate and raspberry. There. I said it. I’m not sorry, I’m in love! 😀

Seriously, everyone. I was like this dude, only replace Five Guys burgers with these candies:

Homemade York Peppermint Patties

Yield: About 50 – 100 patties, depending on how small or large you make them (mine were on the small side)

Ingredients:
7½ cups powdered sugar, sifted (typically one 2 lb. bag of powdered sugar will contain 7½ cups)
⅓ cup evaporated milk (I opened a 14 oz. can and just put the leftovers in my morning coffee the next day)
⅓ cup light corn syrup
3 TBS refined* coconut oil (the jar or packaging should say “refined” somewhere in the description)
3/4 tsp. to 1½ tsp. peppermint extract (I used 3/4 tsp.)
23 oz. Guittard** milk chocolate + 1.3 oz. Lindt** 90% dark chocolate (4 squares from a 3.5 oz. package)

Method:
You’ll need an electric mixer for this one.

Place all ingredients except for the chocolate into the bowl of an electric mixer. Blend on low speed with the paddle attachment, scraping bowl as needed, until all the ingredients are thoroughly combined and a stiff dough is formed. The dough was so stiff that I felt like I needed to switch to the dough hook towards the end! Luckily, my paddle attachment pulled through.

Divide the dough into two balls and flatten them into thick discs. Wrap very well with cling film and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes or overnight. If refrigerating overnight, you will need to let the dough sit out at room temperature for about 15 minutes so that it can soften.

When you are ready to make the candies, line a cookie sheet with waxed paper and set aside. Sprinkle a work surface and a rolling pin with powdered sugar. Unwrap one of the dough discs and place on prepared surface. Roll dough out to a thickness of about ¼”. Use either a knife or a cookie cutter to cut dough into desired size. I used a knife and sliced the dough into strips, some of which were 1″ x 1″ wide and others of which were 2″ x 2″ wide. I varied the size of the candies on purpose, because sometimes I prefer bite-sized York patties and other times I prefer larger ones that I can sink my teeth into! Hurray fangs! Brown-Eyed Baker used a 1⅞” round cookie cutter to cut out her candies.

Gather any dough scraps and re-roll into ¼” thickness; cut more candies. Repeat until no scraps remain. Repeat this rolling and cutting process with the second dough disc.

Place each of these cut pieces of dough onto the prepared baking sheet. You may need more than one baking sheet – I actually just used a plate lined with waxed paper, and covered each successive layer of candies with another layer of waxed paper so that the layers of candies wouldn’t touch. This method worked best for me, because I didn’t have enough room in my freezer for a whole baking sheet (let alone two of them!). Place the cut candies into the freezer for at least thirty minutes or overnight.

When you are ready to dip the candies into chocolate, line a large work surface with waxed paper. You’ll be placing the just-dipped candies onto this surface. Place the chocolate into a heavy-bottomed saucepan and heat on low heat, stirring occasionally, until the chocolate is mostly melted, with some solid chunks remaining. Take off the heat and stir like mad until those chunks finally melt. Alternatively, you can use the double boiler method to melt the chocolate, but I find that the low-heat, no double-boiler method works equally well, with the caveat that you have to keep checking on the chocolate to make sure it doesn’t scorch. Low heat is key.

Once the chocolate has melted completely, take the cut dough out of the freezer and dip each piece, one at a time, into the chocolate. I used two forks to do this – one to hold the piece as I dipped it into the melted chocolate, the other to scrape off the excess chocolate. You can just use one fork and simply allow the excess chocolate to drip off the dipped candy and back into the pot. Dipping things into chocolate is a messy business; find a method that works for you and stick with it. Some people prefer a spoon.

After the excess chocolate has dripped off, place the candy onto the waxed paper-lined work surface and allow to dry completely at room temperature. Repeat the dipping process with each piece of cut dough. This took me almost an hour, but I made small candies, which meant I had more of them. This process won’t take as long if you cut larger pieces from the dough.

Once the candies have hardened completely, store them in an airtight container at room temperature. Stored thusly, these last for several days. I can’t speak for how long they last beyond five days, because they were gone by then. 🙂 The Brown-Eyed Baker says that these candies last for up to one month when stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

*Refined coconut oil refers to coconut oil that has been processed so that the finished product has no actual coconut flavour.

**You obviously can use whatever chocolate brands you wish. I like this combination of brands best, personally.

Source: Slightly adapted from Brown-Eyed Baker

Comment

