Cadbury Creme Egg Cake

Cadbury Crème Egg-opolis.

Cadbury Crème Egg-opolis.

This is a perfect cake for the upcoming spring equinox – truly a Cadbury creme egg in cake form! I am devoted to Cadbury creme eggs, you see.

Many Cadbury crème eggs were harmed in the making of this cake.

Many Cadbury crème eggs were harmed in the making of this cake.

The filling, from the brilliant Sticky Pinny, tastes just like the filling in a creme egg – it’s uncanny. (I used this same filling to make Cadbury creme egg cupcakes.) I also chopped several Cadbury milk chocolate bars and sprinkled the pieces over each layer of filling to add texture and a chocolate zing. The cake, a dense, dark, rich, incredibly moist chocolate cake from this post, is a perfect accompaniment to the sweet, gooey icing. I iced the outside of the cake in a ganache made from Cadbury milk chocolate bars. Honestly, I thought this cake was going to be mind-blowingly excessive, but it turned out to be quite wonderful. I think this might be one of my favourite cakes ever, which surprises the socks off of me.

I decorated the cake with creme eggs, making sure to encourage the filling to ooze onto the cake, but I felt that the cake looked a little boring.

I felt the uncut cake needed a little work.

See? Boring.

I decided to cut out a large wedge to show off the pretty yellow and white filling to its best advantage, and I added more creme eggs with their filling oozing down the cut sides of the cake. I’m very, very pleased with the results, though I’m also quite curious about how you go about decorating this cake! As for the wedge I cut out, well… I made sure there were no witnesses.

The ganache layer is incredibly thick and delicious! Note the yellow and white filling and the moist, fudgy texture of the cake.

See? Not boring! The ganache layer is incredibly thick and delicious! Note the yellow and white filling and the moist, fudgy texture of the cake.

If you enjoyed reading this, click here to subscribe to my blog. That way, you’ll never miss a post!

Cadbury Crème Egg Cake

Ingredients:

For the ganache:
18 oz. Cadbury milk chocolate, chopped
4 TBS butter, cut into 4 pieces
1 1/3 cups heavy cream

For the cake:
1¾ cups plus 2 TBS (9 3/8 oz.) all-purpose flour
1½ cups (4.5 oz.) unsweetened cocoa powder, plus more for dusting pans (unless spraying pans with nonstick spray such as Baker’s Joy)
1¼ cups boiling water + ¼ cup espresso or strong coffee; OR 1 TBS instant espresso or coffee powder + 1½ cups boiling water
¾ cup sour cream
1 TBS vanilla extract
3 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
2½ cups plus 2 TBS (18 3/8 oz.) sugar
3 large eggs, at room temperature
1¼ tsp baking soda
¾ tsp salt

For the creme egg fondant filling:
4 1/2 TBS (60 g) butter, softened
3/4 cup (170 g) golden syrup (if you can’t find golden syrup, light corn syrup is an excellent substitute)
3 1/3 cups (375 g) powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt
yellow food colouring (preferably in gel form)

For the cream cheese icing:
1 8-oz. package (125 g) cream cheese, softened
2 sticks butter, softened (original recipe calls for 125 g, which is barely over 1 stick)
8 1/2 cups (500 g) powdered sugar

For garnish:
1 package Cadbury crème egg minis
6 – 12 regular Cadbury crème eggs
2 – 4 Cadbury milk chocolate bars, chopped, for sprinkling onto the icing layers

Method:

For the ganache:
Place chocolate and butter in medium heatproof bowl. Heat cream until boiling and pour cream over chocolate and butter. Let stand 2 minutes, then whisk until smooth and incorporated. Mixture may appear grainy; keep whisking and it will smooth out. Cover and set aside to thicken to icing consistency, which takes several hours at room temperature.

For the cake:
Preheat oven to 350˚F. Spray 3 8″ round cake pans* with Baker’s Joy or similar and line the bottoms of the pans with parchment paper; spray the parchment paper. Alternatively, butter the insides of the pans and dust with cocoa powder, shaking out the excess, and line the pans with parchment paper. Note: I highly recommend lining the pans with parchment paper, as the cakes tend very much to resist coming out of the cake pans.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. Stir with a fork or whisk to blend and set aside.

Combine 1 1/4 cups water and 1/4 cup espresso. The mixture should measure 1 1/2 cups. Heat mixture to boiling in microwave. In a medium bowl, combine the cocoa powder and espresso mixture (or combine the cocoa powder, 1 1/2 cups boiling water, and 1 TBS instant espresso powder). Whisk until smooth; set aside to cool slightly. When cooled down a bit, whisk in the sour cream and vanilla until smooth. Set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat the butter on medium-high speed until smooth, about 1 minute. Gradually blend in the sugar and whip on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, 2 – 3 minutes more. Blend in the eggs one at a time, scraping bowl after each addition.

With the mixer on low speed, add the dry ingredients and the sour cream mixture alternately, beginning and ending with the flour mixture and beating each addition just until incorporated.

Divide the batter evenly between the prepared pans.* Bake the cake layers for about 30 – 32 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, rotating the pans during halfway through to ensure even baking. Transfer the baked cake layers to a wire rack and let cool in the pans at least 10 minutes before inverting onto the rack to cool completely. While the cakes are cooling, make the fondant filling and cream cheese icing.

For the creme egg fondant filling:
Beat the butter, syrup, vanilla, and salt in the bowl of an electric mixer with the paddle attachment. (Doing this by hand would be exceedingly difficult and would take much, much longer than using an electric mixer.) Gradually add the powdered sugar (you will probably need to switch to the dough hook attachment at this point, for the mixture will be incredibly thick and heavy), followed by the yellow food colouring to tint the mixture to the desired shade of yellow. Beat until smooth. Cover and set aside.

For the cream cheese icing:
Beat the cream cheese and butter together until light and fluffy and completely blended. Gradually beat in the powdered sugar until smooth and thick. Use immediately, or else cover and store in the refrigerator.

Assembly:
Place one cake layer onto a serving platter or cake circle. Spread half the cream cheese icing onto the cake layer and swirl approximately half of the fondant onto and into the cream cheese icing. Evenly sprinkle 1 – 2 chopped Cadbury milk chocolate bars onto the icing. Top with a second cake layer and repeat the icing procedure; sprinkle with an additional 1 – 2 chopped chocolate bars. Top with the third cake layer and ice cake with thickened ganache. Decorate as desired with Cadbury crème eggs, cracking them open and drizzling their filling down the sides of the cake. If you wish, cut a large wedge out of the cake and drizzle more crème egg filling down the cut sides of the cake. Make that cake look like it fought like hell against an invasion of Cadbury crème eggs! The point is to be silly and have fun with this rather over-the-top cake.

*I own only 2 8″ pans, so I divided the batter evenly between the two pans and the mixing bowl, baked the two layers, and cleaned one of the cake pans to use again for baking the third layer.

Sources: Fondant and cream cheese icing barely adapted from Sticky Pinny; cake from Annie’s Eats; ganache slightly adapted from Annie’s Eats

20 thoughts on “Cadbury Creme Egg Cake

    • I’m so excited that you commented on my blog, Sticky Pinny! I’ve loved your Cadbury crème egg icing recipe for a while, and I’m amazed by your brilliance in coming up with something that really does taste like that wonderful Cadbury crème egg filling. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Coca Cola Cake | KitchEnchanted

  2. Pingback: Favourites from 2013 | KitchEnchanted

  3. Hi can you tell me if its 8 inch round cake tins that you use? Also how much cadburys chocolate is used in total weighed into grammes?
    How many grammes of butter are the butter sticks?
    I really want to try this, it looks absolutely sumptuous! Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi, Marisa,

      I’m sorry for the delay in responding! Yes, I use 8″ cake tins. I’m not sure about the weight of the ingredients, but Google will help you. Cadbury’s typically includes the gram amount on their chocolate packets, and US butter measurements are so standardized that it should be no trouble to Google “1 stick butter in grammes,” for example. Hope this helps! 🙂

      • Hi thank you for your reply. Good old Google eh? I have the answer… One stick of butter = 110g. Your cake looks amazing. I am attempting this on Saturday ready for Valentine’s Day Sunday. If successful I shall be making again for our annual Easter party. Regards the chopped up chocolate bars used for sprinkling, do you have approximate weight of these? Or are they standard sized (one average portion sized)? I’ve adapted recipe slightly to what is easily available to buy in a uk supermarket. I’m using coffee liqueur rather than expression, and the Galaxy milk chocolate was on special offer and as that’s my ultimate favourite chocolate I thought I use that rather than cadbury’s. I expect any milk chocolate will be equally as delicious. Thanks again for sharing this fab recipe.

      • The bars I used were each 3.5 oz, which comes to 99 grams exactly according to Cadbury’s packaging. I think the coffee liqueur sounds fabulous! One thing about the cream egg “filling”: It was done by Sticky Penny (a link to her site is in the “Source” section of the recipe), and her measurements are all in grams, if I recall correctly. 🙂 I hope your cake turns out well, and I’d love to see a photo! 🙂

  4. Hi many thanks for your further response. My Daughter and I had great fun today making the cake but I think I’ve mis calculated some of the measurements! Partcularly forte following parts:- Just for clarification can you confirm …

    For the Creme egg fondant filling…

    Is there 4 and a half tablespoons of butter used or 2 tablespoons? Is t 3 cups and an additional one third of a cup of icing sugar?…

    For the Creme cheese icing…
    Is it an 8 oz pack of Creme cheese?
    Is it 8 and a half cups of icing sugar or is it 4 cups (8 X half cups) ?

    How tiny do you Chop the chocolate pieces into that are sprinkled onto ?

    The final question is…. “Do you mix the Creme cheese Icing with an electric mixer or by hand?

    • Hi, Marisa,

      I’m so glad you gave this a try! 🙂 I hope it turned out well. I’d love to see a photograph! As for your questions: The recipe calls for 4 and a half tablespoons of butter; 3 and an additional 1/3 cups of icing sugar; one 8 oz. package of cream cheese (226 grams, according to the American packaging); and 8 and a half cups icing sugar, respectively. I chopped the chocolate pieces into bite-sized pieces; you should chop them into whatever size pleases you. I would definitely use a mixer for the cream cheese icing, otherwise your hand will tire. 🙂 Happy baking, Marisa!

  5. Pingback: 10 recettes à faire avec des oeufs Cadbury | La Mammifère

  6. Should I put in baking soda or baking powder. I am a little reluctant to put in baking soda. Any thoughts?

  7. Thank you so much for this recipe! My husband’s best friend loves Cadbury Creme Eggs and I made this for his birthday today. Everyone loved it and said it tasted just like a Cadbury Creme Egg 🙂

    • Jennifer, I’m so happy to hear this! Thank you for letting me know how it turned out! 🙂 Sticky Pinny is a genius for coming up with a recipe that truly tastes like a Cadbury egg. I need to make this cake again soon! 😉

  8. Pingback: pile on many more layers, and i’ll be joining you there

Comment